Race Equality and Anti-Racist Subcommittee (REAR)

The Race Equality and Anti-Racist Subcommittee (REAR) is a thematic committee of the University Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Committee (EDIC).

The University of Edinburgh will take action against racism in its various forms (personal, cultural and institutional). We do not wish to be complicit through silence and inaction. We wish to establish an ethos and culture that promotes inclusion, respect and dignity and has a zero-tolerance approach to any form of discrimination.

Terms of Reference

The aim of this group is to ensure and promote activity across the University to end systemic racism and the inclusion of BME staff and students.  The group will recommend actions (evidence based) which the EDI Committee can take up to the University Executive. It will also oversee the Race Equality and Anti-Racist Action Plan. 

The work of the group has also been informed by the Thematic Review of Student Support for Black and Minority Ethnic Students, the EDMARC Report  2018/19 sections on Ethnicity, points raised from student and staff petitions as a result of the events related to Black Lives Matter and the Equality and Human Rights Commission Report (2019) on  Tackling racial harassment. 

UoE Race Equality and Anti-Racist (REAR) Action Plan for 2020/21:



Membership of the Subcommittee: 

Bali, Vansh - BAME Liberation Officer, EUSA

Byrne, Lauren - EUSA VP Welfare

Cattell, Laura – Head of Widening Participation

Curry, Tommy – School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences

de Silva-Williams, Deepthi - CAM

DeLappe, Ellie – HR Partner, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Doughty Shenton, Dahlia – CMVM

Fakunle, Omolabake - EDI Director, Moray House School of Education and Sport

Galbraith, Jim - Strategic Planning

Ghul, Rayya - IAD

Gieban-Gamal, Emma – CAHSS EDI Committee

Grewal-Kang, Gurpreet – Student Admissions, R(D)SVS & The Roslin Institute

Gray, Mohini – Edinburgh Diversity and Inclusion Network

Halliday, Karen – College of Science & Engineering EDI Convenor

Lee, Lillian - Intercultural and Anti-Discrimination Advisor

Liu, Sarah - Staff BAME Network

limke, rashne - EREN

McKelvey, Roisin – eBASE Project, College of Science and Engineering

Murray, Felicia - Development and Alumni

Perez-Espona, Silvia – R(D)SVS, EDI Easter Bush EDI Committee

Ramsammy, Michael - co-Convenor

Sena, Emily – co-Convenor

Shade, Rebecca - Student Experience Services

Vadasaria, Sharia – RACE.ED

Wallace, Caroline - Head of HR Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Meeting Notes:

REAR Meeting Notes 11 May 2021 (960.61 KB / PDF)