University of Edinburgh Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee -Terms of Reference

The purpose of EDIC

To provide strategic oversight of the University's progress and performance on promoting EDI for staff and students, on behalf of the University Executive.

Remit

- To lead the development, review and implementation of the University's EDI strategy and Equality Outcomes for consideration by the University Executive, and support their underpinning of the University's Strategic Plan
- 2. To prioritise plans to enhance EDI against transparent objectives and review progress on targets and outcomes
- 3. To promote the mainstreaming of EDI across University structures, systems and processes at multiple levels
- To create a joined up approach to EDI across the University through appropriate representation and consultation – ensuring appropriate alignment with the Staff and Student Experience Standing Committees of the University Executive
- 5. To promote the sharing of evidence based practice in EDI across the University and externally
- 6. To oversee the generation of statistical reports and research to inform priority setting and action planning
- 7. To evaluate the University's progress and performance on EDI for staff and students, including the meeting of its legal obligations under the Equality Act 2010 and related legislative duties
- 8. To oversee the development of any applications for 'charter' status, as appropriate, and any associated action plans for the different protected characteristics through establishing working groups (including, if necessary, the self-assessment teams)

Governance and Operation

- The Committee will act with authority, as delegated by the University Executive, in fulfilment of its purpose and remit.
- The Committee shall meet as required to fulfil its remit, and will meet at least three times each academic year. The Committee may consider some business through correspondence.
- The Committee will be supported by thematic subcommittees and will set up task and finish groups as required.
- The Committee will report directly to the University Executive as necessary, and at least once annually.

Membership

Andrea Scott co-Convenor Gender Equality subcommittee Ash Scholz EUSA LGBTQ+ Officer Audrey Cameron co-Convenor Disability and Inclusion subcommittee Caroline Wallace Head of HR EDI Catherine Bovill IAD co-Convenor Disabled Staff Network Claire Graf Colm Harmon VP Students Dave Gorman CSG EDI Lead Talent and Development Director, HR Denise Nesbitt co-Convenor REAR subcommittee **Emily Sena** EUSA VP Welfare Harriet Harris co-Convenor Faith and Belief subcommittee James Saville **Director of Human Resources** Jeni Harden CMVM EDI co-Lead CAHSS EDI Lead Jenny Hoy Jon Turner **Director of Estates Business Services** June Maguire Careers Service CSG EDI Lead Karen Halliday ISG Data and Equality Officer Katie Nicoll Baines Laura Cattell Head of Widening Participation Leo Hajducki Liz Grant co-Convenor Faith and Belief subcommittee Lucy Evans Deputy Secretary Students and USG EDI Lead Melissa Highton ISG EDI Lead Olivia Eadie IAD Pauline Manchester GaSP Philip Graham Communications and Marketing, USG Pia Wahi-Singh Rashne Limki

Sarah Collins	CMVM EDI co-Lead
Sarah Cunningham-Burley	
Sophia Lycouris	Joint Unions Rep
Vansh Bali	
Victoria Buchanan	co-Convenor Disability and Inclusion subcommittee
Wendy Loretto	co-Convenor Gender Equality subcommittee
Zoe Stephens	Director of Estates Business Services